2018 Osun Governorship Election Observation Mission

The Osun State Governorship election was held on Saturday, the 22nd of September 2018.There are 30 local governments, 322 wards, and 3010 polling units in the state.
According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), there are 1,682,495 registered voters, 1,246,915 (74.11%) collected PVCs; and 435,015 (25.86%) PVCs yet to be collected (PVCs of 565 registered voters are not accounted for).
Of the registered voters, 807,598 (48%) are males while 874,897 (52%) are females. 4,761 card readers were procured for the exercise.
The AID was accredited to observe the election on 27th August 2018. The mission opted for a Short-Term Observation Project. The 2015 General Election’s Legal Framework was adopted by INEC for the conduct of the Osun polls.
The election was declared inconclusive by INEC. A rerun was held on Thursday, the 27th of September 2018. There were 48 candidates from 48 political parties running for the gubernatorial seat, but the strong contenders were Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Ademola Adeleke of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), and Senator Iyiola Ajani Omisore of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

You are currently viewing 2018 Osun Governorship Election Observation Mission

Leave a Reply